top of page

Ads of the day: Nutella and Waitrose

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for content marketing; I love the idea of creating and consistently putting out relevant messages that aim to engage and entertain the consumer rather than interrupt them, but Nutella’s first stab at branded content fell a little flat for me.




Was it the story that let it down? No, it’s a cute human story that I think we can all relate to; spread a little happiness with small, everyday gestures. It was the execution - the whole thing just took itself a little too seriously, and reeked just a bit too much of worthiness in my humble opinion. Also, talk about dragging it out! Nearly 4 minutes of “my 3-year-old gave the garbage man cupcakes”? Maybe it’s my millennial attention deficit tendencies acting up, but I feel like they could have shaved at least 2 minutes off.


However, apparently my cynicism doesn’t stretch to cover Christmas ads because Waitrose’s 2016 offering had me hook, line and sinker. An adorable story about a Robin’s treacherous journey home, maybe I was touched for my namesake. Who knows?




Let me know your opinions in the comment section!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page